Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Notes For June 5th, 2018

This Day In Literary History

On June 5th, 1949, the famous English writer Ken Follett was born in Cardiff, Wales. As a boy, his Christian zealot parents forbade him from watching movies and television, so he developed an early passion for reading.

An average student at first, Follett eventually buckled down and devoted himself to his studies. He attended Poole Technical College, then in 1967, he was admitted to University College London, where he studied philosophy. In 1968, he married his first wife, Mary, and had his first child, a son named Emanuele.

After graduating in 1970, Follett took a post-graduate course in journalism and landed a trainee position in Cardiff as a reporter for the South Wales Echo. A few years later, he returned to London and became a general-assignment reporter for the Evening News.

Around this time, he began writing fiction as a hobby. Finding journalism unsatisfying, he quit and embarked on a career in the publishing business, becoming deputy managing director for a small publishing house in London called Everest Books.

At this time, he also became involved in liberal politics and the Labour Party, and met Barbara Broer, a Labour Party official who would later become Follett's second wife and an elected Member of Parliament.

In the early and mid 1970s, Follett wrote several competent novels, (mostly under pseudonyms) but they were undistinguished except for The Modigliani Scandal (1976) and Paper Money (1977) which received minor recognition.

He also wrote, under the pseudonym Bernard L. Ross, a novelization of Peter Hyams' screenplay for the 1978 Hollywood film Capricorn One, a suspense thriller about NASA staging a fake Mars landing, then attempting to assassinate the astronauts in on the hoax.

In 1979, Ken Follett would publish his first hugely successful novel, Eye Of The Needle. Set during the last year of World War II, the novel told the story of Henry Faber, a man whose boat is caught in a storm and shipwrecked on an island off the coast of Aberdeen.

Faber is taken in by Lucy Rose, a lonely British housewife whose bitter, crippled ex-RAF pilot husband, David, refuses to touch her or show interest in their three-year-old son. Lucy and Faber embark on a passionate affair.

What she doesn't know is that Henry Faber is really the cunning and deadly Nazi spy known as Die Nadel - The Needle! Eye Of The Needle was adapted as an acclaimed feature film in 1981, starring Kate Nelligan as Lucy Rose and Donald Sutherland as The Needle.

Follett has since written numerous other bestsellers, including more espionage suspense thrillers such as The Key To Rebecca (1980) and The Man From St. Petersburg (1982) and historical novels, including The Pillars Of The Earth (1989) and Night Over Water (1991).

In the late 1990s, Follett ventured into Michael Crichton territory with his suspense thrillers The Third Twin (1996) and The Hammer Of Eden (1998).

In The Third Twin, Follett tells a tale of neo-Nazi conspiracy and genetic engineering technology being employed to create a master race. The Hammer Of Eden is about the title group, a cult of psychotic neo-hippie radicals whose leader is an illiterate Manson-like figure called Priest.

When the California state government plans to build a dam on their land, the Hammer of Eden, with the help of a bitter young seismology student, steals a seismic vibrator truck from an oil company and threatens to use the machine to unleash a massive earthquake unless the governor agrees to abandon the dam project.

Ken Follett is without a doubt one of the world's great suspense novelists. His most recent project is a series of three epic novels called The Century Trilogy. The first novel, Fall of Giants, was published in 2010.

A work of historical fiction set between 1911 and 1924, its story is set around the famous events of the time, including the first World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle of British women for their right to vote.

The second novel in the trilogy, published in September of 2012, is Winter of the World. Set around World War II, it follows characters from Fall of Giants as they witness the conflict from the rise of the Third Reich to the beginning of the atomic age and the Cold War.

The third and final novel in the trilogy, Edge of Eternity, was released in September of 2014. It covers the 1960s, 70s, and 80s - the tumultuous changing times and historical events such as the Cuban missile crisis, the Vietnam War, and the fall of the Soviet Union.

Ken Follett's most recent novel, A Column of Fire, the third book in his Kingsbridge series of novels set in medieval England, was published in September of 2017.

Quote Of The Day

"The research is the easiest. The outline is the most fun. The first draft is the hardest, because every word of the outline has to be fleshed out. The rewrite is very satisfying." - Ken Follett

Vanguard Video

Today's Vanguard Video features Ken Follett discussing his most recent novel, A Column of Fire.. Enjoy!

No comments:

The Craft of Writing in the Blogosphere


News from the World of Writing